The question of rest.. How much rest do I need in my fitness routine, really?

Okay, let me have it. I’m about to say something that will possibly go against what you want to do, and even believe. I’m not saying this is for you, just something to consider, and something I’ve been thinking a lot about.
I, like many of you, work out HARD. I tax my muscles to the point that I’m sore for days. I’m sure you can relate. And I believe my workouts should challenge me, every time! However, how many workouts are too many? How far should I push myself, and how many rest-days should I be taking?
Deep down, I have to admit I have been concerned about pushing my body too much. Things like adrenal fatigue, joint and tissue damage, injuries, and the thought of permanent damage to my body is a bit scary to me. And it is so easy to fall into the fitness world’s moto of MORE-HARDER-FASTER. I mean, you see the memes every day, even on this page. Jillian Michaels has a famous quote, “Unless you puke, faint, or die, keep going.” Isn’t this concerning to anyone? Just a thought.
Recently I have been doing research on fat-loss in females. I have found that taking more rest time (even a regular nap), reduces stress and in turn has the ability to lower relative cortisol levels. This is incredibly beneficial in losing fat, especially from our mid sections, ladies. The excess release of cortisol also suppresses our immune systems. I’ve been finding that walking/hiking a few days a week can help us lose fat for the same reason, a reduction in cortisol production. It’s possible this is even more beneficial to losing fat than doing strength training 6 days a week.

We sometimes need to get back to basics. Remember why we started, and for me, it was to be the healthiest me I can be. 

Image

 

I welcome you to find me on FB @ Talache Nutrition and Fitness

http://www.metaboliceffect.com/how-to-lose-stubborn-fat-belly-butt-hips-thighs/

Leave a Reply

